Edition 2022

#AfricaDays2022

The Great Green Wall (GGW) for the Sahara and the Sahel is the flagship initiative of the African continent, and more particularly Africa’s drylands. The initiative aims to to restore ecosystems, transform degraded lands, restore soil fertility, and encourage the sustainable management of natural resources to guarantee better living conditions for Sahelian families.

During the One Planet Summit partners agreed on the need to accelerate the implementation of the GGW and made important financial commitments towards this goal.

The implementation of the GGW requires a “multi-stakeholder”, coordinated approach driven by local communities through decentralized initiatives and territorial projects.

This is why, the 2022 Africa Days will be organized around the following theme:

Together for the Great Green Wall:
Let’s invest in local initiatives!

Non-state actors such as agricultural entrepreneurs, producer organizations, local authorities, development associations, and others, make essential contributions towards the GGW thanks to extensive knowledge of the local environment and social organization.

Technical and financial partners are becoming more attentive to the needs of non-state actors; they see their achievements and express desire to support these field projects to accelerate progress and guarantee local ownership of the GGW.

To achieve the GGW and ensure large-scale impact, it is essential to:

  • Build visibility and awareness around the initiative
  • Support and develop local initiatives and projects that will impact communities and attract investors
  • Strengthen the tools, tactics and strategies that will connect project owners and investors

AFRICA DAYS 2022 PROGRAM

Pre-Forum May 9-10

reserved for partners in the field

Pre-Forum

Pre-forum workshops will be organized in 5 Sahelian countries and online to discuss case studies and successful experiences. Participants will discuss two key questions which will be brought to the Africa Days forum to develop recommendations : 1) How to develop Great Green Wall projects that will be impactful and interesting to investors? 2) How to connect project leaders and investors?

Forum May 16

in-person in Abidjan and online

Forum

The Forum will bring together two panels of experts composed of representatives from civil society, GGW agencies, and investors (both public and private) to share their experiences and answer two questions: 1) How to develop Great Green Wall projects that will be impactful and interesting to investors? 2) How to connect project leaders and investors?

Gala June 3

at the Pullman Dakar Teranga

Gala

The Gala will be held at the Pullman Dakar Teranga Hotel, SOS SAHEL’s premier partner. This festive evening will bring together Sahelian artists such as Didier Awadi and Cheick Tidiane Seck to raise funds, build awareness, mobilize partners and celebrate the incredible potential of the Sahel.

May 16 Forum

The Forum will bring together two panels of experts composed of representatives from civil society, GGW agencies, and investors (both public and private) to share their experiences and answer two questions:

1) How to develop Great Green Wall projects that will be impactful and interesting to investors?

2) How to connect project leaders and investors?

Sponsors

Edition 2022

#AfricaDays2022

La Grande Muraille Verte (GMV) pour le Sahara et le Sahel est l’initiative phare du continent africain, et plus particulièrement des zones sèches d’Afrique pour restaurer les écosystèmes, transformer des terres dégradées et restaurer leur fertilité, tirer parti des ressources naturelles de manière durable et ainsi garantir de meilleures conditions de vie aux familles sahéliennes.

A l’occasion du One Planet Summit, les partenaires financiers se sont entendus sur la nécessité d’accélérer sa mise en œuvre et ont pris des engagements financiers.

La mise en œuvre de la GMV nécessite une approche « multi acteurs », une démarche coordonnée et portée par les communautés sous la forme d’initiatives décentralisées et de projets de territoires.

C’est pourquoi, à l’occasion des Africa Days 2022, nous avons réfléchi avec nos partenaires et avec vous sur le thème suivant :

Ensemble pour réaliser la Grande Muraille Verte
Investissons dans les initiatives locales !

Les acteurs non étatiques (entrepreneurs agricoles, organisations de producteurs, collectivités territoriales, associations de développement locales, etc.) détiennent une grande connaissance du milieu, des modes d’organisation sociale adaptés, et un capital de savoirs inestimé. Ils apportent une contribution essentielle et soutiennent les Etats dans la réalisation de la GMV.

Les partenaires techniques et financiers sont de plus en plus attentifs aux réalisations des acteurs non étatiques. Ils expriment la volonté de soutenir des projets de terrain pour accélérer la mise en œuvre de la GMV et garantir une meilleure appropriation de l’initiative par les communautés.

Pour atteindre les objectifs de la GMV et stimuler des impacts à grande échelle, il est indispensable de :

  • Faire connaitre et vulgariser la Grande Muraille Verte
  • Soutenir les initiatives locales et développer des projets pouvant susciter des impacts sociétaux au sein des territoires et l’intérêt des investisseurs
  • Renforcer les mécanismes pouvant connecter les porteurs de projets et les investisseurs

PROGRAMME DES AFRICA DAYS 2022

Pre-Forum 9-10 mai

réservé aux partenaires de terrain
Le pré-forum aura lieu en présentiel, dans 5 pays du Sahel et en ligne. A partir d’expériences réussies, les participants réfléchiront ensemble aux deux questions ci-dessous et émettront des recommandations qui seront diffusées lors du forum : 1) Comment développer des projets Grande Muraille Verte impactants et qui suscitent l’intérêt des investisseurs ? - 2) Quels mécanismes pour connecter les porteurs de projets et les investisseurs ?

Forum 16 mai

à Abidjan en présentiel et en ligne
Le Forum réunira des experts qui représenteront la société civile, les investisseurs (publics et privés), la Grande Muraille Verte, etc... Les intervenants partageront leur expérience et répondront aux 2 questions suivantes : 1 - Comment développer des projets Grande Muraille Verte impactant et qui suscitent l’intérêt des investisseurs ? 2 - Quels mécanismes pour connecter les porteurs de projets et les investisseurs ?

Gala

reporté à la rentrée 2022

Le Gala aura lieu au Pullman Dakar Teranga. Nous vous donnerons plus d’informations bientôt.

TEMOIGNAGES DES " CHAMPIONS " de LA grande muraille verte

FORUM 16 MAI

Le Forum a réuni des experts représentant la société civile, les investisseurs (publics et privés), la Grande Muraille Verte, etc… Les intervenants ont partagé leur expérience et répondu aux 2 questions suivantes :
1 – Comment développer des projets Grande Muraille Verte impactant et qui suscitent l’intérêt des investisseurs ?
2 – Quels mécanismes pour connecter les porteurs de projets et les investisseurs ?

Introduction

Travaux du panel 1

Travaux du panel 2

Sponsors